PDF Print Email

Welcome to High School Battle of the Books!

NCSLMA is in its second year of Battle of the Books for high schools.  Districts level competitions are being held this spring. Regional competitions are in the works.  We are looking for volunteers to organize regional competitions in all regions except for Region 5.  If you are interested please email Karen Meier.

The System-Level HBOB Compliance Form must be completed and signed by each school participating in a district-level HBOB competition this year.  The school media coordinator must join or renew NCSLMA membership before submitting the online form.

We would like to have one coordinator and two representatives from each region, so please consider joining the committee.

For questions or to join the committee, contact HBOB Chair Karen Meier at [email protected].

2018-2019 HBOB Book List

2018-2019 HBOB Manual

Nomination form for 2019-2020 Book List

Compliance Form

District Question Request Form - due Jan. 18, 2019

Past Book List
2017-2018 HBOB Book List





Committee Members

Karen Meier, Chairperson:  [email protected]

Ike Smith, Questions Coordinator: I Smith

Region 1:  Annie Burge, Perquimans; Melissa Haley-Driver, Pasquotank; Susan Sawin, Dare

Region 2:  Jen Baker, Pamlico; Mary Tobin, Pender

Region 3:  Kimberly Collette, Edgecombe; Becky Frisbie, Franklin; Kate Mester, Durham; Alice Mba, Durham; Laurie Thompson, Durham 

Region 4:  

Region 5:  Jessica Bair-Epps, Forsyth; Heidi Cadmus, Guilford; Jessica Thomas, Guilford; Nancy Towler, Rockingham

Region 6:  

Region 7:   Melony Adams, Wilkes; Rebecca Ungerer, Watauga

Region 8:

Region 9 (Independent Schools): 


Section Chair - Deb Fidali
[email protected]
Media Coordinator
Flat Rock Middle School
4648 Ebert Road
Winston-Salem, NC  27127
School: 336-703-6762